Sabres Name Pominville Permanent Captain

The Buffalo Sabres announced today that Jason Pominville was named captain of the team. Along with Pominville, four players have been named alternate captains: Paul Gaustad, Derek Roy, Thomas Vanek, and Drew Stafford.

While I thought that for months, the team was prolonging the inevitable of naming the team’s best scorer, Thomas Vanek, as captain, I’m not surprised by this move at all. Jason Pominville has always had a voice in the locker room, he is always willing to talk to the media, and he is a guy that the Sabres can rely upon on the ice.

It should also not be forgotten that Pominville was the last captain of the rotational captaincy era before Craig Rivet took on the permanent role in 2008, when he was traded over from the San Jose Sharks.


Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )


Connecting to %s

%d bloggers like this: